I’m not a nice person

I’m not a nice person. I’m not a good person. I hurt people just as much as people have hurt me, I disappoint, just as I have been disappointed. I break promises and renege on deals. I’m sometimes unreliable. I’m sometimes cold and unresponsive and aloof and arrogant. I don’t pretend to be perfect, or even remotely good.

How can I live with myself?

Every day I’m a better person than I was yesterday. That’s how. I hurt one less person, disappoint one less person, I keep one more promise, I stick to one more deal. I become reliable just once more. I love a little more and open up a little more and humble myself a little more. I’m not a nice person. I’m a better person.

Leave a Reply

