Let’s play a game…

Let’s play a game. Let’s pretend that this is going somewhere.

Let’s pretend that I find your jokes hilarious, let’s pretend that you’ll take me up on my music and book recommendations. Let’s pretend that you actually read this blog. We both know you don’t, otherwise you wouldn’t be as giddy to see me. Let’s pretend that I’m completely honest with you all the time and that you do the same with me.

I’ll go first:

I’ve missed you. (I haven’t.)

I think about you often. (I don’t.)

And you would say something like…

I miss you too. (Sure.)

Thanks for sending me those books. (Yeah, yeah, of course.)

I tire of this.

Fun was fun, done is done.

.

..

Why?

Because good enough isn’t good enough. It’s not me, it’s you. It’s not you, it’s me. It’s us, it’s this tepid stereotype interaction. Coasting on neutral isn’t doing it for me any more, or for you. You’re better than this and so am I.

Leave a Reply

