I May Offend You

I’ve spent a great deal of my life conforming, silently apologizing. It’s in the little things: agreeing to something I’m not comfortable doing, pretending I like something when I don’t, pretending I don’t like something when I do, not opening up, keeping my opinions to myself, not standing up for myself. I’m tired of it all. I’m sorry you’re offended but I’m not sorry for what I said, or did, or I’m doing. I may be talking about you. I may not. If you think I am, then you’re right. If you think I’m not, then you’re still right. Often, we interpret the world as we see it, not as it actually is. I won’t apologize any more for being true to myself, for the first time in a long while. I wish growing up was less painful, even for you. I’ve lied enough, I’ve cheated enough, I’ve been a coward once too often and I’ve been a passive-aggressive jerk too many times. And it’s time I put all that aside, even if it means losing friends and stepping on some toes.

Leave a Reply

