Searching For You

Still searching,

Always searching,

For you in myself,

For myself in you.

I see you then I don’t, I feel you, then I don’t,

And I wonder if I did something wrong,

if you did something wrong.

I wonder if I didn’t do something. Anything.

Plunged into darkness,

alone, I can hear the echoes of my heartbeats

resonate off the walls of the

cage of silence you’ve built me.

Music comes back to me, sorrowful-sweet.

These words haven’t found you yet.

Will they find you? Will they find you in time?

Will I find you?

Will I still find you when you come back?

Will you find me?

I sought you out, in my dark places once,

and I found you, beautifully bent like myself,

but you’re in your dark places,

where no one is allowed to venture.

I won’t find you there, in those labyrinths

which remain shut to the world.

I’m scared you won’t find me when you come back.

If you ever come back.

I’m scared I will never find you again.

My heart, the beggar,

asks why. I know why.

I wish I didn’t know why.

Oblivion would be a blessing.

The beggar will not let me rest,

let me not know,

let me unknow.

I almost wish I didn’t know you,

But I won’t unfeel you, unlove you.

I can but I won’t.

I may lose this part of myself that

I’ve struggled too long to grow.

I return to the silence, mine and yours,

and pray to find you there,

where our heart’s echo will move with us, for us,

when you let me into your labyrinths.

Leave a Reply

