Back to sleep

You were here, now you are gone.
This wasn’t a dream,
but a reality covered in shadows
of dreams to come
and dreams deferred to near-death.
Looking through the fog
and seeing what I wanted to see.
You have shown me how wrong I was;
what sweet sorrow.
I won’t dream again.
I’m going back to sleep,
back to where
I’m king and conqueror.
It was beautiful while it remained,
this delusion, or was it more?
I don’t know.
Maybe the answers
will flash behind my eyes
tonight or tomorrow morning,
as I wait for new dreams to come.

Leave a Reply

