Parched

The earth is parched.
Like my soul.
Inside I am
Clawed dry by
Thoughts of what
Could have been,
Can be,
What the past cradled
What the days to come
Bring.
Haltingly,
It is raining.
In tune with
My heartbeat.
For the first time
In as many days
I pray
That it will pour with
A vengeance.
The earth is thirsty,
Like my soul.
For goodness.
For comfort.
Any comfort
From any arms.
I want the sky
To open up,
To quench the earth.
Maybe in the torrents
I will also find
Respite,
The cool drops
Seeping into
My bones.


Leave a Reply

